This Disappears When Logged In

Breeding Dubia's

Discussion in 'Invertebrates General' started by Coryssavvy, Dec 7, 2012.

1. Coryssavvy

Coryssavvy New Member

Alright so I am new to this. I have a 35 gallon tub setup with a large heat mat under the tub. It is lined with egg cartons. I have pit an orange in with some water crystals and some crushed dog food and grain. As far as the humidity goes what is the easiest way to control it an what should it be at? I started with 100 dubia's and about 5 are males. Is that enough? I am really hoping this works out well because I have given up on crickets, they smell and get loose constantly. Any input is appreciated
    Thank you!
    Cory Dennis

2. AdamL8

AdamL8 Elite Member

I started with 2 adult pairs and 260 mixed sizes. That was 3 months ago. As of yesterday I'm up to 62 adult females. If you give them warmth, food, and water, you are golden. It will likely take 6 months or longer before you can feed entirely out of your tub but it will happen. Companies that sell Dubia keep a low male:female ratio. Sometimes this is as low as 1:8. The males eat up your food and the females can only get pregnant once every 30 days so 1 male can impregnate multiple females. Most people simply feed off excess males which is what I do. For the time being I keep a near 1:1 ratio because I don't have many but once my colony is in full swing I will probably drop that to atleast 1:3 if not 1:5.

For humidity, I have a water bottle with holes in the lid centered on the heat source as well as water crystals that are also on the heat source. I have only ever had issues with molting one time and I misted the sides of the tub then it went away. I do not actively mist the tub so I'm not sure exactly what caused the bad molts. It's supposed to be around 60% but mine is probably closer to 50% and I have no problems.

3. kriminaal

kriminaal HH Block Leader Staff Member Premium Member