This Disappears When Logged In

Blood Pythons Vs Ball Pythons

Discussion in 'Blood Pythons' started by Orca, Aug 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Orca

Orca Elite Member

I am by no means a snake expert - I've just had my ball python for 16 months and the two of us are doing good so far. I've been reading up on the blood pythons because that species is now legal here so I'm trying to be educated about them. I read the care sheet here and the one on NERD's website so I think I have the basics down. Their care seems rather similar to that of ball pythons. Can you guys tell me what the major differences would be between the two species? Aside from them looking physically different, that is.

2. Dragoness

Dragoness Elite Member

bloods have huge humidity requirements.

3. David McConley

David McConley Elite Member

Yeah, Jen's right. I have a rescued blood python (4 ft long), and she always needs help shedding. I just can't seem to get the humidity right, yet! I just soaked and shedded her yesterday as a matter of fact. Being a rescue, she is one mean so and so. She always tries to rip my hand off every time I touch her. As I hold her though, she calms down a bit and I can handle her with very little issue. I am continually working with her as I also am trying to convert her to f/t rats in stead of the gerbils she normally eats.

4. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Not only the humidity requirements but they have a totally different temperment,..and NOT for the better. Most bloods are totally obnoxious and seem to be torn between making the decision whether to bite you or to spray you with excrement!
    Aw heck,...lets do both!

5. David McConley

Merlin, I have been VERY lucky. She has only tried to bite me, she never once acted like she was going to hose me down. I really don't think the person who turned her in to animal control handled her regularly,but had her for the "cool factor".

6. Orca

Orca Elite Member