This Disappears When Logged In

Blood Python Poop

Discussion in 'Blood Pythons' started by rorycollinsgreen, Feb 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi again, I had one other question; since I'm relatively new to caring for a blood python, how long do they generally take to go number two? I've had mine since just after christmas, I've fed him 2 mice and a rat, and he still has not gone. Is this a problem? Or do they take a long time to go?

2. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

I don't know about bloods but Pythons in general have a very slow metabolism and don't "go" very often. Also depending on the size of the snake relative to how much and how often you feed there could be quite an interval.
    If you suspect constipation try putting him a tub of 90-95 degree water for a bit. This often stimulates them to go.

3. Og_

Og_ Elite Member

Translation: If You suspect constipation, Try putting him in a tub of 90-95 degree water for a bit. This often...:p

4. lol thanx merlin

5. Merlin

Duh! See what happens when I get in a hurry!

6. Og_

Og_ Elite Member

My blood eats a small rat once a week. He doesn't poop once a week but it's within two weeks or so. Hmm, 2 mice and one rat since christmas?
    Let's see, Mine has eaten about six small rats since Christmas.
    I've heard of people who live in colder climates having snakes that will fast all winter. I dunno.