This Disappears When Logged In

Best Thermostat to Heat 3 Cages

Discussion in 'Heating' started by kevintj0913, Mar 5, 2014.

1. kevintj0913

kevintj0913 Member

Hello everyone, I am planning on buying three 36x24x18 pvc cages for my three reptiles. I am choosing to use 40watt radiant heat panels on all three and I don't know which is the best thermostat to use to control my temperature. I don't want to spend hundreds of dollars but I am new to using a thermostat. Any help would be appreciated. The three tanks are for a bearded dragon, rosy boa and a sand boa. For the sand boa I might opt for a smaller cage due to the snake being smaller than the rosy and beardie.

2. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Just a point. A single thermostat is not going to be able to control all three cages.
    The stat I use is the Zoo med Reptitemp 500R.

3. CryHavoc17

CryHavoc17 Elite Member

In order to use a single thermostat for multiple cages all the set ups need to be identical sizes and controling identical heaters set to the same temperature. Even then their is a higher risk to your animals because only the cage with the thermostat probe in it is actually being monitored. So if you have some kind of failure in another cage your stat would have no idea and continue to run power to that cage normally.

Because your talking about three different species with three different heating/lighting/care requirements, I would advise against trying to run all three on a single thermostat.

Also, quite frankly, I dont think a radient heat panel is an appropriate method for heating a bearded dragon cage. They need access to bright light, which a heat panel doesn't provide

4. Darkbird

Darkbird Elite Member