This Disappears When Logged In

Baby Western Hognose Feeding and Vacation Question

Discussion in 'Colubrids *General*' started by graduationxday, May 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. graduationxday

graduationxday Elite Member

I'm going on vacation tomorrow and I'll be gone until Monday. I got a baby hoggie, now named Scylla, at a show last weekend, she's about eight or nine inches and smaller around than a dime.
    The man I bought her from said she ate pinkies, and the last time she ate was about a week ago from last Saturday.
    I thawed out a pinkie for her today and sat it in her cage after taking out her hide, but she had nothing to do with it.
    I warmed the pinkie up again and put her in a display cup thing and all she's doing is trying to get out.
    I really would feel better if she ate before I left for the beach, but I'm quite new to this whole f/t feeding thing. I don't even know if I'm doing it right, to be quite honest. Haha.

I turn the tap water on until it gets really hot, put it in a bowl, and then put the pinkie in a plastic bag in the water. I leave it in there for about five minutes, then give it to her. She doesn't want it, and I'm really not sure if I'm doing something wrong or if she's just still not settled enough to eat.
    Advice?

Ohoh, and with me going to the beach, should I leave Scylla's lights, and my beardies lights, on? I don't have a timer. I mean there's not much else I could do, except ask my neighbor to come and cut the lights on and off every day. I don't trust her though... There have been mishaps before and I'm not really wanting to risk it again. Ideas?

2. shwknight

shwknight Elite Member

You can get timers for around $4 dollars at wal mart. I'd suggest getting 2 of them. And as far as the feeding goes I have no idea, sorry :(

3. graduationxday