This Disappears When Logged In

Adult Corn Snake Not Eating - How Often to Try Food?

Discussion in 'Corn Snakes' started by RTaylor, Feb 8, 2012.

1. RTaylor

RTaylor New Member

Hello there,
    New poster to this site. I've had an adult corn snake for about a year and a half. I am fairly new to snakes though, although I'm experienced with other pets (non reptile). He's about 4 feet long, and usually eats quite well (frozen adult mice). He shed about 3 weeks ago and ate 3 adult mice about 2-3 days later. He normally eats about once a week - I feed him when he gets active/hungry, and I increased him to 3 mice at one feeding the feeding before he shed (he had been eating 2 mice twice a week). He ate those quite easily and quickly. About 5 days after he ate, he was very active around the cage, like he usually acts when he's hungry. Since he had eaten the mice so easily, the pet store where I get my frozen mice suggested a small rat (when I had moved him from fuzzies to mice, he was eating 3 fuzzies at a time). I was worried the rat was too big, but gave it a try. He seemed very interested and hungry, but didn't eat it. Thinking it was a size issue - I thawed some mice for him instead. Again he was active, interested and seeming hungry, but he wouldn't eat them.

This was a week and half ago. I've since then tried feeding him 2 more times (mice), and again he seems very hungry and interested but after a few hours I take the mouse away. Yesterday I tried moving it around to encourage him to eat (I've never had to do that before), but that didn't seem to help at all.

I've read from several sites that snakes sometimes go thru a fasting period, and one also suggested (to another poster) that not eating might be due to the start of breeding season. I'm fine with him fasting - he's very healthy looking overall and has a good weight.