Reptile Forums | Herp Center - Powered by vBulletin
Advertise Here ^
       
^^ The Advertisements above disappear once you log in. Not a member? Register Now, it's free! ^^
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Elite Member CTScrivener's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    193

    Good Design? Bad Design? Opinions?

    Greetings! I have a few questions concerning a POTENTIAL design for a new Bearded Dragon enclosure I will be making in the future (after the Water Dragon enclosure ofcourse) and wanted to get some opinions on the basic idea thus far.

    The dimensions and such are all subject to change as well as the design itself so if you have any ideas or concerns please let me know.

    Let me start with a model of the proposed enclosure (please note it is a crude design model only at this point):



    I don't want the light fixtures to be visible so I wanted to put a hinged lid that can be raised or lowered to allow access to the lights when it is required. I might have to put some vent holes somewhere to allow the heat from the fixtures to escape. Currently I have it designed to allow for two 8.5" dome light fixtures and two 24" fluorescent fixtures. Allows for a megaray, a secondary heat source if required, and two supplementary lightning fixtures for visibility.

    I still need to design/figure out the vents for the airflow through-out the tank. I plan on having a low vent on the left (cool) side of tank and a high vent on the right (hot) side of tank for natural air movement. I can't seem to find any premade pop-in vents that I can use so I might have to design/make my own.

    I'm also thinking about two doors on the front with 1/4" glass in each. I'm thinking that will be the only glass in the tank as my Bearded Dragon likes to try and rub her nose on glass, so I want to reduce the amount of see-through sides of enclosure.

    Uhm, any thoughts so far or questions about the design? Anybody have any input of what might need to be changed?

    Oh, the tank would be roughly 2'x2'x4' or 5' (at this point in time, but dimensions can change in the future to larger but no smaller)
    1.2.5 Chinese Water Dragons (Physignathus cocincinus)
    Reptar, Yoshi, Trog, & 5 babies

    0.1.0 Bearded Dragon (Pogona vitticeps)
    Spyra

    0.0.2 Red-Eared Sliders (Trachemys scripta elegans)
    M & M

    0.0.1 Leopard Gecko (Eublepharus macularius)
    Azure






  2. #2
    Elite Member Kazooguyz2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Kalamazoo, MI USA
    Posts
    363

    Re: Good Design? Bad Design? Opinions?

    Looks fantastic!!! What program did you use?? I still use the old fashioned graph paper!!! Please PM me with details.
    "Do not mess in the affairs of dragons; for you are crispy and taste good with catsup" -Unknown, but assuming a Gold dragon

    "May luck and happiness follow you and may you be shielded from misfortune." -Brisingr, book 3 of the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

  3. #3
    Administrator Merlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma City, Ok.
    Posts
    31,439
    • My Reptiles

    Re: Good Design? Bad Design? Opinions?

    Looks doable!
    However I would put both vents down on the bottom to help retain heat.
    Go to the hardware store in the plumbing, irrigation, and drainage sections. There are some nice little plastic circular drain covers in various sizes.
    http://www.plumbingsupply.com/draincovers.html
    Merlin,
    What's Life Without A Little Magic!

  4. #4
    Elite Member CTScrivener's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    193

    Re: Good Design? Bad Design? Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kazooguyz2 View Post
    Looks fantastic!!! What program did you use?? I still use the old fashioned graph paper!!! Please PM me with details.
    Haha, I use graph paper too. I just have the benefit at having some good programs to take advantage of when at work.

    Thanks for the input!

    P.S.
    PM sent...
    1.2.5 Chinese Water Dragons (Physignathus cocincinus)
    Reptar, Yoshi, Trog, & 5 babies

    0.1.0 Bearded Dragon (Pogona vitticeps)
    Spyra

    0.0.2 Red-Eared Sliders (Trachemys scripta elegans)
    M & M

    0.0.1 Leopard Gecko (Eublepharus macularius)
    Azure

  5. #5
    HH Block Leader kriminaal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    9,805

    Re: Good Design? Bad Design? Opinions?

    Looks good.
    I'm not a fan of swing-out doors. Having used them on one of my enclosures. I found that insects escape or drop out when they open.
    I much rather prefer sliding doors now, after spending enough time on my hands and knees catching escapees.(kinda catchy,rap lyrics maybe)

    Sliding doors are easily sealable with foam weatherstripping in between.
    Mike

    Help us help others


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  6. #6
    Elite Member murrindindi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    10,596

    Re: Good Design? Bad Design? Opinions?

    I think it would be better to have a sliding glass front, that way you won`t lose as much heat as the two doors, because you can slide them just far enough apart so that you can do whatever`s needed. I also use a separate hinged lid with the lights attached, but I made it hinge in the centre (lengthways), so again, I don`t lose quite as much heat on opening. And I agree about the vents being near the bottom of the tank. (Mike, sorry, you got there two seconds before me)!

  7. #7
    Elite Member CTScrivener's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    193

    Re: Good Design? Bad Design? Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by Merlin View Post
    Looks doable!
    However I would put both vents down on the bottom to help retain heat.
    Go to the hardware store in the plumbing, irrigation, and drainage sections. There are some nice little plastic circular drain covers in various sizes.
    PlumbingSupply.com - replacement and repair shower drain covers, strainers and screens for Casper and Oatey fiberglass showers
    Put both down at the bottom? Ok, sounds like a plan...will I still get good airflow and not have stagnant air or anything?

    Haha, as bad as it sounds if a good idea would be to use those then I might as well cut them out at work. I'm the CAM programmer and machinist at a sheet metal fabrication shop.
    1.2.5 Chinese Water Dragons (Physignathus cocincinus)
    Reptar, Yoshi, Trog, & 5 babies

    0.1.0 Bearded Dragon (Pogona vitticeps)
    Spyra

    0.0.2 Red-Eared Sliders (Trachemys scripta elegans)
    M & M

    0.0.1 Leopard Gecko (Eublepharus macularius)
    Azure

  8. #8
    Elite Member CTScrivener's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    193

    Re: Good Design? Bad Design? Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by kriminaal View Post
    Looks good.
    I'm not a fan of swing-out doors. Having used them on one of my enclosures. I found that insects escape or drop out when they open.
    I much rather prefer sliding doors now, after spending enough time on my hands and knees catching escapees.(kinda catchy,rap lyrics maybe)

    Sliding doors are easily sealable with foam weatherstripping in between.
    Hmmm, maybe I will work up the design for sliding doors then if I can find the hardware for it. Sounds like a plan!


    SO FAR BTW....HORRIBLE time trying to find the mini-track for sliding glass setups..GAH!
    1.2.5 Chinese Water Dragons (Physignathus cocincinus)
    Reptar, Yoshi, Trog, & 5 babies

    0.1.0 Bearded Dragon (Pogona vitticeps)
    Spyra

    0.0.2 Red-Eared Sliders (Trachemys scripta elegans)
    M & M

    0.0.1 Leopard Gecko (Eublepharus macularius)
    Azure

  9. #9
    Elite Member CTScrivener's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    193

    Re: Good Design? Bad Design? Opinions?

    This any better guys? You all like this style more than the last?

    1.2.5 Chinese Water Dragons (Physignathus cocincinus)
    Reptar, Yoshi, Trog, & 5 babies

    0.1.0 Bearded Dragon (Pogona vitticeps)
    Spyra

    0.0.2 Red-Eared Sliders (Trachemys scripta elegans)
    M & M

    0.0.1 Leopard Gecko (Eublepharus macularius)
    Azure

  10. #10
    Administrator Merlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma City, Ok.
    Posts
    31,439
    • My Reptiles

    Re: Good Design? Bad Design? Opinions?

    I think the sliding doors are a better idea myself.
    You will still be getting air movement since heat rises and the top, however form fitting, will not be air tight.
    As for cutting the vents out of metal youself. The ones I get at Home Depot are not a flat peice but have a circular sleeve on one side that allows them to slip over a pipe. This is ideal since you only have to cut a circular hole in the side of the enclosure, put a dab of silicone sealer on it and press it into the hole.
    Merlin,
    What's Life Without A Little Magic!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Design Ideas.
    By Sunobius in forum General Construction
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-19-2009, 04:58 PM
  2. Inside Cage Design
    By missabrat in forum General Construction
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-31-2009, 03:56 PM
  3. Cage Design
    By Reptillia06 in forum General Construction
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2007, 03:03 PM
  4. cage by design
    By geckoguy14 in forum General Construction
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-27-2005, 11:14 PM
  5. Tank stand design
    By Rebel-Gecko in forum General Construction
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-19-2004, 02:48 PM
Powered by Herp Center
Herp Center | Richard Brooks
© 2004 - 2014
All rights reserved.
Online Since 2004

          
All material appearing on this web site is copyright © Herp Center, except where stated, and cannot be reproduced without our express written permission.